Welcome to

 The 31st Year of


April 14, 2018

“Rally is the warmest, longest-running conference in Michigan. Great speakers, great company, and pretty good cookies.”

2018 Preview

Keynoter Terry Blackhawk: Founder of InsideOut,
poet & teacher
Greg Baldino: Ethics in YA Books
Michael Byers: short stories, novels: Percival’s Planet
Desiree Cooper: journalist, flash-fiction novel: Know the Mother
Lisa Grady: Screenwriting
Patrice Johnson: nf book, The Fall and Rise of Tyler Johnson
Linda Peckham: The Clumping Theory
John Smollens: Wolf: A Novel
Alice Speilburg & Elana Roth Parker: Agents, First Pages
Whitney Spotts: Book Promotion
David Stricklen: MG Blackwater Pond series
And more to come
12/5/17 UPDATE: Our roster of session leaders is now full for A Rally of Writers on April 14, 2018! We’ve made some additions since the Save-the Date email went out, and we’ll post a new lineup before the end of December.

The Richard Bradley Scholarship will again be available young writers 15 to 20 years old.

Full details in this PDF


For news of writing events, seminars and conferences, check in at The Skaaldic Society website and click on the WRITING EVENTS tab. I will be making updates there as news comes in. For information about local Michigan writing groups click on the Skaalds LINKS tab.

For more information on writing groups, check out the Resources page here.